Röng Háttr

A few days ago over on https://www.reddit.com/r/Eve/ there was a post, Tiny idea for improving the NPE, which opened a discussion about having some ship fittings and possibly some sort of description for the reasoning behind the fit in the Corp Fittings Tab of the NPC Corporations to give new players some examples of how to fit a ship for a specific purpose.

I think this is a superb idea, ship fitting can be a complicated thing to grasp and having some examples with what and why would be brilliant for new players… but it would need to be implemented well.

  • First and foremost the fittings will need to be attainable for a brand new player (this may be hard to achieve).
  • They will need to be easy to find, I’d doubt the Corp Fittings Tab is all that prominent to a new player – how do you get them to see the NPC Fits?
  • Obviously the fittings will need to make sense for the NPC Corp they are in and for what purpose they are filling – you wouldn’t (shouldn’t) find many Venture fits in the Republic Military School Corp Fittings Tab.
  • I’m sure there’s some more points that I’m missing… ship fitting is an art and some pilots in New Eden are really messy artists and could use some help.

New characters in EVE all start with eleven skills (55,824 skill points). Two of those skills are race-specific, as an example here is what a brand new Minmatar character starts with:

  1. Mechanics II
  2. CPU Management III
  3. Power Grid Management III
  4. Gunnery II
  5. Navigation III
  6. Mining II
  7. Astrometrics I
  8. Science III
  9. Spaceship Command III
  10. Minmatar Frigate II (race-specific)
  11. Small Projectile Turret III (race-specific)

That’s not much to go off when trying to build a fit for a new player, go ahead and throw a character into EFT with just those skills and try to fit a T1 Frigate decently – it’s nigh on impossible.

Completing the Tutorials does reward a new character with additional skill books and then they can get a few more if they do the Career Agent missions – these are very helpful for fitting hulls so a question arises… When do you introduce the Corp Fittings Tab? After the Tutorials, after the Career Agent missions – I’m not sure… I’ve not yet taken a good look at what skills are rewarded where in the Tutorial/Career Agent arc.

I’m going to attempt to use the Republic Military School NPC Corporation to illustrate a couple of fits. I’d think they would have, at minimum, two Rifter fits for new players; a PvE fit and a PvP fit. Here’s my take on them.

[Rifter, Vherokior Patrol Frigate]
Gyrostabilizer I
Shield Power Relay I
Shield Power Relay I

1MN Afterburner I
Adaptive Invulnerability Field I
Medium Shield Extender I

125mm Gatling AutoCannon I
125mm Gatling AutoCannon I
125mm Gatling AutoCannon I
[empty high slot]

Small Core Defense Field Extender I
Small Core Defense Field Extender I
Small Core Defense Field Purger I

  • The Vherokior Patrol Frigate is used by Republic Military School pilots to patrol local space and keep it clear of pirate activity.

[Rifter, Minmatar Republic Fast Attack Frigate]
Damage Control I
Gyrostabilizer I
Nanofiber Internal Structure I

Medium Shield Extender I
Warp Scrambler I
5MN Microwarpdrive I

150mm Light AutoCannon I
150mm Light AutoCannon I
150mm Light AutoCannon I
[empty high slot]

Small Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
Small Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
Small Anti-Thermal Screen Reinforcer I

  • The Minmatar Republic Fast Attack Frigate is the ship used by the Republic Military School to introduce their pilots to engagements against the other Capsuleers of New Eden.

Pretty easy fits to get in to but I’m not sure that they are attainable even after completing the Tutorial and Career Agent missions? And they’re just my thoughts… I’m intrigued to see if and where CCP will take the suggestion of Corp Fitting examples for the NPC Corporations.

– – –

Fjúka Hœttr!

Virðing,
Kalam

Leave a Reply

