Biða Fjǫrlag

Curious about how to kill some time in New Eden while you wait out your Jump Clone timer… maybe give mining in a bait fit Retriever a go and see how many gank attempts you can foil?

After jumping clone to High-Sec to inject some skills I got really bored and spent a few hours killing time mining yesterday in a tanky Retriever and managed to foil three gankers; Ganker #1, Ganker #2, Ganker #3. The second fella was the hardest of the three, he must have been the highest skilled of the lot, had me down to 25% structure before CONCORD got him. These were all solo gank attempts, I figure this ruse will only last a little while and the more serious gankers will catch on to the game I’m playing and at some point will either double/triple up on me or just not try at all.

I think the fit I’m using may stand up to two lower skilled gankers, maybe even one lower skilled – one higher skilled, but there is no chance of it surviving three gank fit Cats – for those interested here’s the fit I’m mining with:

[Retriever, Rockhammer]
Damage Control II
Reinforced Bulkheads II
Reinforced Bulkheads II

Medium Ancillary Shield Booster, Cap Booster 50

Strip Miner I
Strip Miner I

Medium Transverse Bulkhead I
Medium Transverse Bulkhead I
Medium Transverse Bulkhead I

Acolyte II x5

With all V’s she’s got over 25,000 EHP, reps 109 EHP/s with an overheated MASB (you better be overheating!) and kicks out 87 dps with the Acolyte II’s. Fully fit she will cost you around 40,000,000 ISK – she doesn’t mine very efficiently though and it is highly improbable you’ll make even 10,000,000 ISK per hour with her so if you don’t lose her you have the possibility to make back that investment in about 4 or 5 hours.

She’s maybe not the wisest investment but if you’ve got some ISK to burn and occasionally some time to kill then she can be an entertaining way to kill that time – it is fun to watch those gankers, fully expecting another easy Retriever kill, get shot down by CONCORD while you’re still on grid with them.

 

– – –

Fjúka Hœttr!

Virðing,
Kalam

Leave a Reply

